Australia and Oceania

The historical geography of Oceania and Australia includes many cultural and territorial changes, as well as many different ethnic groups.

Heard Island and McDonald Islands

Heard Island and McDonald Islands

Heard and McDonald are uninhabited islands in the southern Indian Ocean. They belong to the Commonwealth of Australia at a distance of over 4,000 kilometers and are managed by the country’s Department of Environment and Energy. Australia’s Subantarctic Archipelago Heard is rugged and mountainous, 80% covered by compacted snow and small glaciers that form the …

Heard Island and McDonald Islands Read More »

Western Australia

Western Australia (state)

Western Australia is one of Australia’s six states on the west coast of the continent. It borders South Australia to the east and the Northern Territory to the north. Western Australia has a total area of about 2.5 million square kilometers and is the largest state in Australia. The main city and capital of Western …

Western Australia (state) Read More »

New Caledonia

New Caledonia

New Caledonia is a French overseas territory located in the South Pacific. It is located on the east coast of the Australian continent, north of New Zealand and south of Equatorial Guinea. New Caledonia is an archipelago consisting of the main island of Grande Terre, about 20 smaller islands and many coral reefs. New Caledonia …

New Caledonia Read More »

Queensland (state)

Queensland (state)

Queensland is one of Australia’s states located on the northeast coast of the country. Queensland is the second largest state in Australia after Western Australia and covers more than 1.7 million square kilometers. The state has a population of about 5 million people, most of whom live in cities on the southeast coast, such as …

Queensland (state) Read More »

Wellington New Zealand

Wellington (New Zealand)

Wellington is the capital of New Zealand and the second largest city in the country after Auckland. It is located on the northern island of New Zealand on the Cook Strait, which separates the island from the South Island. Wellington is the political, economic and cultural center of New Zealand, and home to many government …

Wellington (New Zealand) Read More »

Great Barrier Reef

Great Barrier Reef

The Great Barrier Reef is located in the Coral Sea and is important to Australia’s ecological balance and economy, attracting millions of tourists each year. It consists of more than 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands spanning more than 2,300 kilometers (1,400 miles) and covering approximately 344,400 square kilometers (133,000 square miles). A unique world …

Great Barrier Reef Read More »


Canberra (Australia)

Canberra is the capital of Australia, located in the southern part of the country. The city was specifically created in 1913 to replace Sydney and Melbourne, which were disputing the right to that status. Canberra is one of the few cities in the world that was specifically designed to be used as the capital. The …

Canberra (Australia) Read More »

Great Dividing Range

Great Dividing Range

The Blue Mountains National Park gives the impression of a fairyland. And not only because of the eternal fog over them, but also because the landscape here is millions and millions of years old. Since the length of each meridian is 20,004,276 km, the Great Dividing Range occupies almost a fifth of its length. The …

Great Dividing Range Read More »

Scroll to Top